The Colouring Purple

DSC_3685Purple, it’s one of Iz’s favourite colours and she loves her drawing and colouring, we even have a gallery of sorts in the kitchen – cue Tony Hart inspired music.

I often tried to get something on The Gallery section of Take Hart or Hart Beat when I was little, but to no avail. Both Sarah and I did Art & Design at GCSE level, with me continuing it to A-levels, so it perhaps wasn’t that much of a surprise that Iz had a penchant for paint and pens.

Isabelle is quite the expert at colouring in with her precision and not going over the lines, although that always reminds me of that old Rob Newman (no relation) sketch from Newman and Baddiel in Pieces. You know, the one the one where he says it doesn’t matter if you stay in the lines or not. View that sketch here.

Talking of colouring in I see there is a new (collect them fortnightly) colouring in magazine for adults, which is all meant to be very therapeutic.

DSC_3688And I’ve just bought Sarah a book of such adult colourings as she rather fancied giving it a go. Personally, I love the idea of the some of the colouring books for adults that you can get, which includes everything from album covers, scenes from horror films and er Benedict Cumberbatch.

I do remember my brother and I having The A-Team colouring book, but to be fair i was only about eight.

For me it was always felt tips for drawing, I loved my A3 flip pads I would get at Christmas, and my brother and I used to get an A4 pad each Christmas for our Nanna, each monikered with ‘Dean’s Pad’ and ‘Gavin’s Pad,’

I even recall selling some of my cartoon drawings – the likes of The Pink Panther, Bugs Bunny and Scooby-Doo – in the playground at junior school. Happily Iz is a fan of those very same shows I watched (as well as their more recent incarnations) so perhaps she’ll be Scooby-Doo-dling before long?

Leave a Reply

