Toy Story

And so it has come to pass, we have bought the first toy for our baby.

Seeing as you asked, it is a ‘Sleeping Timmy’, based on the baby sheep character from Shaun the Sheep. It seemed a great idea buying it at the time, apart from the fact that ‘Timmy’ kept on making snoring/bleating noises as we made our way round the supermarket, with both increasing volume and strange looks.

As with other baby related items it’s not been allowed past the threshold of the front door for now, so mum and dad-in-law get the pleasure of the snoring sheep – it even has its own little teddy bear, at the mo. I’ll admit though I’d have probably been tempted to buy it even if we weren’t having a baby…there I said it.

Apparently when I was a baby my favourite toy character was Casper the Friendly Ghost, until he went missing in action one fateful shopping trip. Casper, I hardly knew the. I don’t really remember him but I do still have fond memories of some of my first toys, including a massive dog that used to sit at the end of my bed, which I cleverly dubbed ‘Big Dog’, hardly original but he was bloomin massive and he kept the sheets on the end of the bed to boot!

I also had a giant blue bear that my Nanna bought me, she also bought my brother a brown one when he was born, and the stuffing may have been knocked out them a little bit and might be missing an eye, but we still both have them and cherish them. Thanks Nanna.

Another favourite was a Kermit the Frog glove puppet that I had. I loved this so much that I used to sleep with my hand in him, which meant his mouth eventually was destroyed and you could poke my it straight through with red dangly bits of material hanging out of his mouth, which probably looked a tad horrific.

Such toys may not stay on your bed today, but they’ll always stay with you.

Leave a Reply

